Skidaway Institute summer interns on board

Skidaway Institute’s summer interns have arrived.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGiovanna Sayuri Azarias Utsumi is a Brazilian student, participating on the new Brazilian Scientific Mobility Program (BSMP).  Through that program, she had the opportunity to study oceanography for two semester at Florida Institute of Technology. She is interning in Aron Stubbins’ lab.

Before coming to the U.S., Giovanna studied science and technology of the sea, a interdisciplinary major with emphasis in the ocean, at the Federal University of São Paulo (UNIFESP). She is in her third and last year. She plans to graduate on the end of this year. After graduation she plans on getting a second degree in petroleum engineering and renewable energy.

“The summer internship in Skidaway Institute of Oceanography is a great opportunity for laboratory experience and for my future,” she said. “I intend to apply all the knowledge and experience acquired here in my country.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Leticia Silva is a second scholarship recipient from the BSMP.  She is studying biological sciences at the Federal University of Uberlandia. She also completed two semester at the University of Arkansas through the scholarship program. After graduation, Leticia plans to get a master’s degree and work with research. She is also interning in Aron Stubbins’ lab.

“I hope to learn a lot here at the Skidaway Institute and I feel very lucky to be here,” she said. “I came to USA to learn as much as I can, and that is what this internship means to me: an opportunity to learn and grow as a student and as person.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA The third intern in Aron’s lab is Courtney Bahrs. Her journey to Skidaway Institute was considerably shorter. Courtney is a senior at Brewton-Parker College in Mount Vernon, Ga. Her major is biology, with a minor in chemistry. Courtney also has a softball scholarship. She plans to graduate next May.

“I am not quite sure what my next steps are but I am planning on getting my master’s and eventually a Ph.D.” she said.

Danny Stouffer is an intern with Dana Savidge. Danny Stouffer is a physics major with a math minor at St. Mary’s College of Maryland. He plans to go to graduate school to earn his master’s in marine engineering.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“So far I love the campus. It has great scenery and the faculty are really nice and welcoming,” he said. “I have been enjoying my time both inside and outside the office. Savannah offers a lot of activities to keep me busy.”

Leave a Reply

